34th General Assembly of the CPMR Islands Commission


The 34th General Assembly of the CPMR Islands Commission entitled "How can – or could - new EU policies help islands to face their challenges, and seize opportunities?" and co-organized by CRPM, the Region of South Aegean and READ S.A., took place with great success in Rodos Palace Hotel in Rhodes on 22 and 23 April 2014.

The Conference’s main subjects were the new EU policies and initiatives for the new programming period and their contribution to addressing the challenges that the island and coastal European regions are facing. It was held under the auspices of the Hellenic Presidency of the Council of the EU and it was attended by the European Commissioner for Regional Policy, Mr. Johannes Hahn, the General Secretary of the Ministry of the Aegean and Island Policy, Mr. Nikos Zoidis, the MEP and Vice President of the Regional Development Committee, Mr. George Stavrakakis, among other senior officials of the European institutions, government officials, representatives of Greek and European local and regional authorities, experts and academics.

The Island Region Authorities gathered in Rhodes in the framework of the 34th Annual Conference of the CPMR Islands Commission were: Azores (PT), Bornholm (DK), Gotland (SE), Gozo (Malta), Ionia Nissia (GR), La Réunion (FR), Madeira (PT), Notio Aigaio (GR), Orkney (UK), Saaremaa/Hiiumaa (EE), Orkney (UK), French Polynesia (FR), Shetland (UK) and Western Isles (UK).


During the second day of the conference, a short presentation was carried out about the MED Capitalization project Sha.p.e.s., informing the participants about its objective, its main activities and expected results. Also, just outside the conference hall there was a stand specially dedicated to the project, featuring a banner and project’s leaflets, which were also included in the conference kit that was distributed to the participants. 

Restricted area: