Province of Lucca

Provincia di Lucca

The Province of Lucca is a public body of local government ( NUTS III level), situated in North-West Tuscany, Italy. It covers 1.772,81 km sq, includes 35 Municipalities and 393,363 inhabitants. Topographly it comprises four macro areas well-differentiated from a geographical and socio economic point of view: Garfagnana, a vast and picturesque valley basins between the  Alpi apuane and the Appennine chain; the Serchio River Valley; The Plaints of Lucca, rich in industry, farming and ancient towns;  the Versilia, a high quality seaside locality.

The body has an human force of 552 employees, the Council foresees 24 Councillors plus the President of the Province, who are elected by popular vote. Currently there are 3 Areas of Coordination headed by 3 Coordinators. Each area is broken up into Services managed by Chief Executives and Offices. For the year 2012, in order to run its institutional tasks, enumerated below, the province had a yearly budget of approximately 130 million euro.

The Province represents the local community of citizens and exercises powers and performs duties for the efficient, effective and economical local planning and governance.  Between the urban and the regional level it promotes and coordinates the socio - economic development aiming to the general welfare of its community and territory.

It has recently managed interventions for immaterial infrastructure supporting innovation processes (e.g. broadband network technologies for local districts). It has supported the developpement of technology clusters, incubators and innovation centres as a result of an intensive planning activity on economic decelopment and innovation.  Moreover, by the Territorial Plan of Coordination, the province gives guidelines for the urbanization process management and for the coordination of the urban territorial development.